Health Care District

Keski-Suomen keskussairaala

The Central Finland Health Care District is owned by 21 municipalities in Central Finland: Hankasalmi, Joutsa, Jyväskylä, Kannonkoski, Karstula, Keuruu, Kinnula, Kivijärvi, Konnevesi, Kyyjärvi, Laukaa, Luhanka, Multia, Muurame, Petäjävesi, Pihtipudas, Saarijärvi, Toivakka, Uurainen, Viitasaari and Äänekoski.

The highest decision-making body in the Health Care District is an Administrative Council of 49 members. The administration is directed by a Board of Directors of 9 members.

The largest non-university hospital district in Finland

We provide specialist health care in Central Finland Central Hospital. We are responsible for specialist medical care services in Central Finland, working closely with health centres, Jokilaakso Hospital and Kuopio University Hospital as well as some other specialised hospitals.

Central Finland Health Care District is the largest non-university hospital district in Finland, with services in nearly all medical specialties:

  • Acute Medicine
  • Anaesthesiology and Intensive Care Medicine
  • Physiatry
  • Geriatrics
  • Dental, oral and maxillofacial diseases
  • Dermatology and Allergology
  • Respiratory Medicine
  • Surgery
    • Hand surgery
    • Pediatric surgery
    • Neurosurgery
    • Orthopedics and traumatology
    • Plastic and general surgery
    • Cardiothoracic surgery
    • Urology
    • Gastrointestinal surgery
    • Vascular surgery
  • Clinical physiology and nuclear medicine
  • Clinical neurophysiology
  • Ear, nose and throat diseases
  • Child neurology
  • Child psychiatry
  • Pediatrics
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Neurology
  • Adolescent psychiatry
  • Pathology
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiology
  • Eye diseases
  • Internal medicine
    • Endocrinology
    • Gastroenterology
    • Hematology
    • Infectious diseases
    • Cardiology
    • Nephrology
    • Rheumatology
    • General internal medicine
  • Oncology and radiotherapy

Our strengths lie in our motivated and highly professional staff, our investments in extensive research and education, and our seamless collaboration with health centres.

The organisation of the Health Care District

The organisation of the Health Care District is divided into six operating areas, with 25 areas of responsibilities between them.  In addition to them Central Finland Regional Health Centre operate as public utilities. Regional Health Centre provides eight municipalities (Keuruu, Multia, Petäjävesi, Konnevesi, Laukaa, Toivakka, Luhanka and Joutsa) with basic health care services.

Laboratory services are provided by Fimlab, laundry services by Sakupe, and ICT services by Medi-IT.

Organisational chart 2018 (pdf, in Finnish)

At the end of 2016, the Central Finland Health Care District employed 3643 people, of which 469 were doctors, 2 156 belonged to the nursing staff, 1 018 to general staff, and 449 to the staff of public utilities. The total expenditure in 2016 was 349,4 million euros.